2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
First Name: Peter
Aircraft Type: DA40NG
Aircraft Registration: N168
Airports: KEMT

NG vs XLT in light of Austro MSB

Post by pete423 »

I have a DA40NG that was originally scheduled to be delivered next month but Lifestyle informed me in Aug it got delayed until March even before this MSB. Should I assume that I will not be seeing the plane by March? There is a lot of engines/pistons to be replaced and overhauled. And from what I am understanding of the MSB, they will be shipping the defective(affected) engines on new delivery until they have a redesigned piston by early to mid 2023. Am I understanding that right?

I have read every pro and con on this board regarding the XLT vs NG debate. If I have the option to switch it to the XLT with the lycoming, would you guys suggest that I do that. I chose Diamond over Cirrus for its safety as I am a new low time pilot. The increased stall speed on the NG already worried me from the beginning and now this MSB is really making me reconsider the choice. The only concern I have with XLT is the resell value since Diamond and Lifestyle is pushing so hard on the NG.
Soareyes
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
First Name: Dan
Aircraft Type: DA42-VI
Aircraft Registration: N518R
Airports: KINF

Re: New MSB about to be issued

Post by Soareyes »

It would be avgas XLT for me all the way.
Current: DA42-V1

Previous: Hang gliders, Paraglider, DA40(x3), Cessna 150 Aerobat, SR22
Chris
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Chris
Aircraft Type: DA42NG
Aircraft Registration: N449TS
Airports: KHIO

Re: NG vs XLT in light of Austro MSB

Post by Chris »