VM1000 replacement and reset tach

Any DA40 related topics

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Post Reply
User avatar
perossichi
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N925RH
Airport: KVNY

Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:05 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 33 times

VM1000 replacement and reset tach

Post by perossichi »

Can folks advise where I get a VM1000 battery replacement? I saw a post by Lance Murray on the need to replace battery, but not where to get this.

Also, are there posts on resetting the tach value so that it doesn't zero out?

many thanks

peter r
2002. Powerflo, Hartzell composite two blade, 530W/430, 345 transponder.
User avatar
Steve
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Steve
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N432SC
Airport: 1T7

Posts: 1303
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:23 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 212 times

Re: VM1000 replacement and reset tach

Post by Steve »

This is a very good explanation of the battery replacement:

http://eaaforums.org/showthread.php?163 ... amp-Busses

I get my replacements from Newark Electronics:

https://www.newark.com/stmicroelectroni ... 8T02-70PC1

Here is the procedure to reset the Tach Time:

https://vmsupport.weebly.com/--how-do-i.html

It is an easy job if you are comfortable working with electronics. I am, and have done it twice so far in my airplane. The hardest part is getting the digital box out of the airplane, as some of the fasteners are tough to get at...

Steve
User avatar
perossichi
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N925RH
Airport: KVNY

Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:05 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: VM1000 replacement and reset tach

Post by perossichi »

Steve
Many thx.

Did you need to reset time or does the chip come preinitialized?

I used to have a business in the 1980s and 1990s selling EPROM chips for PCs that had special scientific character sets. So this looks like a trip back in time.
2002. Powerflo, Hartzell composite two blade, 530W/430, 345 transponder.
User avatar
Steve
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Steve
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N432SC
Airport: 1T7

Posts: 1303
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:23 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 212 times

Re: VM1000 replacement and reset tach

Post by Steve »

Peter: You will have to reset the Tach Time, as the chip is blank. It isn't difficult.
User avatar
perossichi
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N925RH
Airport: KVNY

Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:05 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: VM1000 replacement and reset tach

Post by perossichi »

Steve

I’m sorry. I didn’t make myself clear. The chip includes a clock. I assume the date and time do not have to be set. Tach time obviously has to be set.
2002. Powerflo, Hartzell composite two blade, 530W/430, 345 transponder.
User avatar
Steve
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Steve
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N432SC
Airport: 1T7

Posts: 1303
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:23 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 212 times

Re: VM1000 replacement and reset tach

Post by Steve »

The VM-1000 does not display date or time, so no.
User avatar
jwx96
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: John
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N193JP
Airport: KFCM

Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:54 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: VM1000 replacement and reset tach

Post by jwx96 »

I had the battery chip replaced 1 year ago when I had my GTX345 installed. My avionics shop (Modern Avionics in Eden Prairie, MN) followed the instructions in the references listed above. The replacement went fine but they were unable to reset the tach using the instructions. Each time they tried, the clock advanced by .1 hr and they stopped when they got to .7 hrs. That’s not really a problem. They made a note in the logbook and now everyone records tach time and TTAF. For many planes the tach time and TTAF are the same, but for my plane TTAF is the tach time before the battery change + the new tach time +.7. TTAF is the time that really matters. With that said I would be interested to hear from anyone who recently had success resetting their VM1000 tach. Also, I talked to a Diamond service center in IL that operates 2 2003 DA 40’s and they said their planes have never had a VM1000 battery change.
Post Reply