3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
First Name: Wilfried
Aircraft Type: DA42NG
Aircraft Registration: OEFSJ
Airports: EDMA

FUEL TEMP Warning

Post by Wilfried »

Yesterday I had a confusing failure indication: Flight duration was 2:00. After approx. 1:30 I got a red R FUEL TEMP indication on the PFD. A look into the engine parameters showed a quickly rising fuel temperature to a maximum of 105 degrees. Emergency checklist advised to reduce engine power. I reduced from 75% to 55%. Fuel temperature decreased to around 60 degrees. Then I switched the fuel selector of the right engine to the left side. Temperature on the RH side fell again to around 46 degrees and remained at this level until landing. I am not an engineer, but it doesn't look like a sensor problem. Any of you have an idea?
IMG_2573.JPG
IMG_2571.JPG
Aart
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
First Name: Aart
Aircraft Type: DA42
Airports:

Re: FUEL TEMP Warning

Post by Aart »

Yes, this looks like a sensor problem to me, although obviously not a completely failed sensor.
Good thing you did a cross-feed and waited to see what that would bring. The actual fuel temp on the ride side will have dropped a lot more than what the sensor finally read, 46 degrees. It should have read lower than 27 degrees, the temp on the left side, because the fuel on the right side was no longer heated by the RH engine. It should have gradually reduced to ambient temperature, assumed to be relatively low where you were flying?
Aart
DA42.332 PH-CCD LESB (Palma de Mallorca, Spain)
oamir
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
First Name: ofer
Aircraft Type: DA62NG
Aircraft Registration: 4XCXR
Airports: LLHZ

Post by oamir »

Hello,

had the same problem on the same airplane model a couple of months ago, the shop just clean well the sensor and all was back on track :) good luck

ofer
Wilfried
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member

Post by Wilfried »