3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
First Name: Curt
Aircraft Type: OTHER
Aircraft Registration: N215CS
Airports: 22N

Geo Referencing on Chartview

Post by curts63 »

I'm new to owning a Diamond DA40. In my last plane, a homebuilt with Garmin G3X Touch, all the maps and approaches were geo referenced. Does the G1000 have this option for Chartview or does it require Jeppesen charts? If the latter, is Diamond considering an upgrade for Chartview? It's nice to see your plane on the airport diagram and approach plates.
curts63
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member

Re: Geo Referencing on Chartview

Post by curts63 »

My mistake, I should have said Garmin's Flitecharts, not Chartview. It seems ridiculous that you should have to install a second "system" instead of just using Garmin's software and charts.
Chris
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Chris
Aircraft Type: DA42NG
Aircraft Registration: N449TS
Airports: KHIO

Post by Chris »

The DA40's G1000 supports either Garmin FliteCharts or Jeppesen ChartView. I don't recall if you need an unlock card to enable FliteCharts or if you just need to purchase the databases.
Chris
N449TS / DA42-NG / 42.AC049
KHIO
Chris B
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Chris
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N171CB
Airports: KRHV

Post by Chris B »

curts63 wrote:It's nice to see your plane on the airport diagram and approach plates.
FWIW, I subscribed to FliteCharts for the first year and used it exactly twice: once to confirm that it loaded properly, and once to show a friend. ;)

I shoot a lot of IMC approaches, and personally much prefer having geo-referenced plates on the tablet, leaving the MFD for moving map with terrain & traffic. At airports, SafeTaxi (which is fantastic and intuitive) displays position on the moving map, but does not require FliteCharts.

Chris
rwtucker
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Rob
Aircraft Registration: N831BA
Airports: KFFZ KEUL

Post by rwtucker »