3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
First Name: David
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N317AF
Airports: NAMPA IDAHO ( MAN)

DA40 CHT - Advice needed

Post by DCLEMONS »

I'm a student pilot and want to say how valuable this forum is. What I read is amazing and Im very thankful for responses. My CFI and I were departing Nampa ( KMAN) - thats close to Boise Idaho. At 1000 AGL, I - started my check list - Pump / Flap / Left Cross Wind call. The baffles have been removed.

I started to lean the Mixture slightly - and noticed within less than one minute the CHT was approaching 450, we both missed the temp reading. The Garmin panel was front and center, we just were not watching it due to inbound traffic, I adjusted the Mix to full and immediately leveled, but was surprised that the CHT temp was not falling back to normal rate .

I realize my mistake of adjusting/ leaning the mix on climb, it was a bad idea. Will never do that again - unless the climb in high elevation requires it.

My question for you is this:
What are the steps for cooling CHT correctly? Is it more than setting the mixture to full and to level?
What is the procedure that you have found that works and how long does it take to get the CHT to respond to cooler readings ?

Since the CHT readings were not coming down - I immediately turned back to the airport and continued manuevering at 4000+ ft AGL, the temp came down and the engine seemed to be OK.

I definitely hit the CHT ceiling and never want to see that again - I will be watching that CHT temp reading going forward.

Appreciate your advice in advance. David
Rich
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Rich
Aircraft Registration: N40XE
Airports: S39 Prineville OR

Re: DA40 CHT - Advice needed

Post by Rich »

Was it one cylinder, more, all? What were the EGTs and fuel flow?