2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
First Name: Christopher
Aircraft Type: DA42-VI
Aircraft Registration: LNSMF
Airports: ENGM

New DA42-VI Config // Built in Oxygen or concentrator

Post by sedatedokc »

I am soon going to place an order for a DA42-VI for delivery next spring. I have asked about this on Euro GA but just hoping to get some final thoughts! Airplane will be based in Norway, trips for 2 people going around Scandinavia / Europe!

My primary question is about oxygen. I have zero experience flying above 10000ft. Most people seem to want/recommend the built in Oxygen plus the after market regulator to make it last longer. But what about skipping that and just having a pair of Inogen Aviator Oxygen concentrators? Less cost, weight, and inspections. Okay, none of those factors are a big deal here. What I am. mostly thinking about is that I will be happier to use the concentrator more frequently, since I don't need to worry about running out. And also, I don't see myself being happy with the dry noses Ive heard about from using built in O2. I see myself drinking tons of water and then having to land every hour to have a pee break. Then downside to the concentrators only being space taken up by the oxygen concentrator, but this being used as a plane for two people, Im guessing they would fit nicely in a backpack behind one of the seats and so no problem? Thoughts? If this is not optimal, I suppose I try vaseline in the nose to keep it from drying out.

Besides that, any advice on a new order is appreciated! I will of course be asking my sales rep, but any specific ideas on for example if a faster satellite will very soon be available, or for example about the new garmin radar (?). Maybe worth specifying I want the newer radar if it won't significantly delay delivery? Some things I will want to confirm for example are the Canopy is a Tall version (but not bubble) and the seats are climate controlled (?) And so forth. Thanks!

DME - Yes
ADF - No
Stormscope - No