Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Any DA40 related topics

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

User avatar
jwx96
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: John
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N193JP
Airport: KFCM

Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:54 pm
Has thanked: 7 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by jwx96 »

I replaced my 330 with a 345, in the same place, which is to the right of the autopilot and beneath the fuel gauge. I remember they told me it was a tight fit because of the canopy arm. I don’t think it is sticking out any farther than the 330 did, but I’ll take a picture next time I fly and will repost.
User avatar
jwx96
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: John
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N193JP
Airport: KFCM

Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:54 pm
Has thanked: 7 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by jwx96 »

Image

Here's what it looks like. I used Modern Avionics at KFCM.
Attachments
IMG_5893.jpg
User avatar
Charles
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Charles
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: C-FLEV
Airport: CYHU

Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:36 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by Charles »

Be careful the first time you close the canopy after the installation. When the tech was done installing mine, he closed the canopy without thinking and the strut scraped loudly against the back of the transponder. That bent the back of the 345 slightly and damaged the paint on the strut. A small adjustment could have avoided that.
User avatar
Lance Murray
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Lance
Aircraft: DA40

Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by Lance Murray »

Thanks!
Post Reply