Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Any DA40 related topics

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

User avatar
perossichi
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N925RH
Airport: KVNY

Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:05 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by perossichi »

Several years ago, I replaced my 327 with at 345. I had no problems with fit. I believe there is a different back connecter as well as a change in the co-axial cable connector. Perhaps, an old 90 degree co-ax connector is the source of the problem others have experienced.

My install was done by Ray's Aviation, Santa Paula.

Here is a picture (it fits perfectly flush).

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l90eh077b1aot ... 9.jpg?dl=0
2002. Powerflo, Hartzell composite two blade, 530W/430, 345 transponder.
User avatar
Lance Murray
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Lance
Aircraft: DA40

Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by Lance Murray »

Thanks all. I really like the autopilot at the top of the stack. When single pilot I find I don't mess with the audio panel too often. All airliners have the autopilot (mode control panel) at the top. It makes sense to me. I just stopped by the shop today. It looks like with some creativity they were able to shoe horn the GTX345 in the normal location. They were able to trim away part of the connector and eliminate the back shell.
User avatar
Rich
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Rich
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N40XE
Airport: S39

Posts: 2393
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 356 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by Rich »

Lance Murray wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 7:52 pm
Thanks all. I really like the autopilot at the top of the stack. When single pilot I find I don't mess with the audio panel too often. All airliners have the autopilot (mode control panel) at the top. It makes sense to me.
I wouldn't say the vertical positioning in the stack affects accessibility to the knobs/buttons of the various units. But the visual effect of the state of a device is more apparent when it's up high. Once upon a time, having the marker beacon lights up in view made sense. But since these things are now almost completely irrelevant, having the display of the A/P mode/state (is it even on?) more in view seems a valid argument.
2002 DA40: MT, PF, 530W/430W, KAP140, ext. baggage, 1090 ES out, 2646 MTOW, 40gal., Surefly, Flightstream 210.
User avatar
perossichi
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N925RH
Airport: KVNY

Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:05 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by perossichi »

I find myself doing a lot of radio freq changes on ifr with both SoCal and NorCal approach control. Altitude changes seem less frequent which argues for the conventional configuration. But I can see the point of having the AP on top. Sometimes I have a tough time reading of the indications on the AP.

P
2002. Powerflo, Hartzell composite two blade, 530W/430, 345 transponder.
User avatar
astaib
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Arnaud
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: FGNJX
Airport: LFPX

Posts: 284
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:00 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by astaib »

One question: it is authorized to get the xpdtr out of the « main stack » and install it apart ?
I wanted to do this on my steam gauge and my Avionic shop told me that it is a major change change and it requests a official topic with EASA.
Arnaud
DA40 Star 180 / 40.026 / 2001
GNS430 NON-WAAS - Steam gauges
Non certified ADS-b
User avatar
Tom-B
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Tom
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N455DS
Airport: KLOM

Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 9:33 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by Tom-B »

Lance,

As you have the 345 installed I highly recommend having the Flightstream 210 installed at the same time. Having the ability to type in and upload flight-plans and clearance changes from the iPad to the panel (and avoiding scrolling through the 530W screens) has been a major safety upgrade.

Tom
User avatar
Rich
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Rich
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N40XE
Airport: S39

Posts: 2393
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 356 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by Rich »

astaib wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:39 am
One question: it is authorized to get the xpdtr out of the « main stack » and install it apart ?
I wanted to do this on my steam gauge and my Avionic shop told me that it is a major change change and it requests a official topic with EASA.
The positioning of the transponder down on the right is the common factory-installed location for those of us with GNS530/430 and A/P. So the location is perfectly fine.

But moving stuff around the panel is not a trivial matter. Reworking the wiring is likely not trivial. So I could see that being of concern.
2002 DA40: MT, PF, 530W/430W, KAP140, ext. baggage, 1090 ES out, 2646 MTOW, 40gal., Surefly, Flightstream 210.
User avatar
Lance Murray
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Lance
Aircraft: DA40

Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by Lance Murray »

The install isn’t finished yet but here is the shop’s solution. Hopefully there is enough clearance for the panel movement.
Attachments
AE4B9199-FF51-42E2-BFA5-31CDB1FBDD84.jpeg
User avatar
Lance Murray
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Lance
Aircraft: DA40

Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by Lance Murray »

I’ve considered it. I am also considering just upgrading the stack to the new Garmins also.
Tom-B wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 1:01 pm
Lance,

As you have the 345 installed I highly recommend having the Flightstream 210 installed at the same time. Having the ability to type in and upload flight-plans and clearance changes from the iPad to the panel (and avoiding scrolling through the 530W screens) has been a major safety upgrade.

Tom
User avatar
Lance Murray
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Lance
Aircraft: DA40

Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Steam gauge DA40 with Garmin GTX345?

Post by Lance Murray »

Closing out my question. With a staggering amount of money in labor a GTX 345 can be stuffed into the existing GTX 327 location. Works great.
Post Reply