Now that was a go-around

The ramblings of our community of aviators.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Rich
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Rich
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N40XE
Airports: S39 Prineville OR

Now that was a go-around

Post by Rich »

Yesterday I was a participating pilot in a Young Eagles event with my local EAA chapter, right here out of Prineville. In these endeavors communication is the key, as (in this case) we had 6 aircraft continually flying the same mission profile of takeoff, fly about a 40 nm route back to the airport, land, get the next youngster, and repeat.

So for one of these sorties, I pull up as no. 3 for takeoff, with an Ercoupe having called short final, and the first plane in line (and 50's-era 170, also participating) pulls out onto the runway and starts his takeoff roll. This was a really close call. The Ercoupe pilot powers up and goes around, the 170 takes off. The remaining two of us hold and wait for the Ercoupe to come back around a shortened pattern and land. Never heard a peep from the 170. Not a bad job by the Ercoupe pilot, surface DA around 4200 ft, in an old D-model that he says is an 80-knot airplane.

It turned out that the 170 started having radio problems somewhere along the way and may not have known it right away. He later wound up pulling out of the exercise altogether when the battery in his hand-held died. I did note his ADS-B Out worked great the whole time in the air, which was helpful when I was in the air at the same time he was. But I had the feeling he was switching it off when on the ground.
2002 DA40-180: MT, PowerFlow, 530W/430W, KAP140, ext. baggage, 1090 ES out, 2646 MTOW, 40gal., Surefly, Flightstream 210, Orion 600 LED, XeVision, Aspen E5
Pascal
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
First Name: Pascal
Aircraft Type: DA20-C1
Aircraft Registration: CGSMT
Airports: CYJN

Re: Now that was a go-around

Post by Pascal »