Cable Rollers

Open for questions of visitors of DAN. Posts of our guests are on moderation queue.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Jimflyw
1 Diamond Member
1 Diamond Member
First Name: Jim
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N350RJ
Airports: 4B8

Cable Rollers

Post by Jimflyw »

Hi First time here,

I'm a rusty pilot that has gotten back into flying and have been flying for the last few months. I had never flown a Diamond before but have been spending most of my time in a D 40. I've made a decision to go for my Instrument Rating and want to do it all in my own plane. I've decided on the Diamond and have made an offer on an older one. I want to know and ask every ones opinion other then a pre- buy inspection, is there or are there certain things I should be concerned about other then obvious engine and instrument issues. Thanks JimFlyw
Boatguy
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Russ
Aircraft Type: DA62
Aircraft Registration: N962M
Airports: KSTS

Re: Cable Rollers

Post by Boatguy »

If you’re working your instrument rating, be sure you buy a plane with WAAS GPS. Some older DA40s cannot be upgraded to WAAS which means no RNAV (GPS) approaches.
Rich
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Rich
Aircraft Registration: N40XE
Airports: S39 Prineville OR

Post by Rich »

Boatguy wrote: Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:36 am If you’re working your instrument rating, be sure you buy a plane with WAAS GPS. Some older DA40s cannot be upgraded to WAAS which means no RNAV (GPS) approaches.
You can still do RNAV approaches, you just don't get WAAS-approach features (primarily glideslope guidance) and minimums.
2002 DA40-180: MT, PowerFlow, 530W/430W, KAP140, ext. baggage, 1090 ES out, 2646 MTOW, 40gal., Surefly, Flightstream 210, Orion 600 LED, XeVision, Aspen E5
AndrewM
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
First Name: Andrew
Aircraft Registration: N897KC
Airports:

Post by AndrewM »