Trying to decide

Open for questions of visitors of DAN. Posts of our guests are on moderation queue.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Wildair17

Trying to decide

Post by Wildair17 »

Well I passed my checkride few weeks back. I have about 74 hours all in a C172p. But now that I am trying to figure out what plane I should go with it's been a hard battle. My brothers father in-law is a DA rep. He pointed me to the DA40. But I have no experience with it. In San Antonio there is no school that carries DA40s. My mission would be normal weekend trips min 150 nm each way.. once a year long trip to New Orleans, New Mexico, and something similar. Looking for something that moves fairly quick. I weigh 175 and the wife 132. It would be nice if we could take another couple on few trips. I hear great things about DA40s and also negative things. I worry about payload and the Texas heat. If anyone knows someone in San Antonio with a DA40 please let me know. I am battling looking at the DA40, C182, and Sr 20. Also has anyone heard about the diamond share program? Is it worth it? Any input would be great.
Steve
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Steve
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N432SC
Airports: 1T7

Re: Trying to decide

Post by Steve »

Wild:

I have a 2001 DA40 at Kestrel Airpark (1T7). It is a little slower than the newer models, but fine for my mission, which is flights around the area, plus longer trips to FL, NM, AZ. I'd be happy to fly you in it. Not sure if you have access to the message feature here, but my email is: chalfin@uthscsa (dot) edu.

Steve
Wildair17

Post by Wildair17 »

Sent you an email. Also heard that 2003-2004 model with 6 pack had better leg room and CG? Was just thinking can use 6 pack for my IR training then after always updrade 6 pack with newer and lighter g1000 or similar compared to older model g1000 which weighed more.
rwtucker
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Rob
Aircraft Registration: N831BA