Longitudinal control on take-off/landing roll

Open for questions of visitors of DAN. Posts of our guests are on moderation queue.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Tosh

Longitudinal control on take-off/landing roll

Post by Tosh »

Hi there,

I am a private pilot based in San Francisco bay area (Hayward, KHWD).
Recently I started renting DA40 at a flight school and logged 4-5 hours so far. I was struck by its beautiful appearance and super smooth flight control. :shock: ...I think I fell in love.

Transition to center joystick was no problem and I feel it's quite intuitive. Only issue is my tri-fold kneeboard doesn't fit with a joystick so I will need to get a smaller plate or something.

I have a question about longitudinal control on take-off/landing roll. I am getting used to the free-castering nose wheel when taxing, but I have difficulty to keep straight on take-off and landing roll. Obviously I don't want to use brakes especially on take-off, so the airplane is little bit swinging left and right until it gets enough airspeed.
It would be great if I can get some tips from experienced DA pilots here.

Also, I'd love to connect to the local pilots who fly Diamonds. Please let me know if you are SF local.

Thanks!
Tosh
Chris B
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Chris
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N171CB
Airports: KRHV

Re: Longitudinal control on take-off/landing roll

Post by Chris B »

Hi Tosh -

Welcome to DAN!

You might find this thread (link) helpful for tips on dealing with the free-castering nose wheel on takeoff. IMO, rudder compensation for takeoff in a DA40 is a bit like a tail wheel aircraft: short 'blips' on the rudder, combined with experience. ;)

There are several of us on DAN based in the Bay Area. I am based at RHV and would enjoy syncing-up!

Chris
Colin
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Colin
Aircraft Type: DA42
Aircraft Registration: N972RD
Airports: KFHR

Post by Colin »