Buying DA40 used in Flight School

Open for questions of visitors of DAN. Posts of our guests are on moderation queue.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

DA40Kyle

Buying DA40 used in Flight School

Post by DA40Kyle »

Hello all. I am planning on buying an aircraft and have decided that the DA40 is right for me. The information on this forum has been extremely helpful in learning about the different options, etc. I would like to thank all of you who post on here and I hope to be an active contributor myself soon.

I am a private pilot with 120 hours and close to instrument rating. All of my time is in Cessna 172s other than a couple of recent flights in which I did a checkout in a DA40 to try it out. (There are no DA40s for rent in my area, I had to travel out of town to rent one)

Anyway, on to my question: One of the aircraft I'm considering purchasing has been used in a flight school. Does anyone have any experience or advice with purchasing an aircraft that had been used in a flight school? If so, are there any particular problems you've run into after the purchase or anything specific that should be looked at in the pre-buy inspection?

Kyle
DavidS
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
First Name: David
Aircraft Type: DA40
Airports: KHEF

Re: Buying DA40 used in Flight School

Post by DavidS »

Welcome! I'm sure you'll love the 40, they're amazing planes.

With respect to buying one out of a flight school, think about how you flew a plane when you first started. Now think about that same type of behavior spread out over many, many hours a month. Yea.