3 Diamonds Member
First Name: Shawn
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: CCCCC
Airports:

First Aircraft and Post

Post by gordsh »

Hello Everyone,

I am making my first post to introduce myself. I am a student pilot located in Burlington, Ontario and I recently purchased and imported a 2010 DA40 XLS Premiere Edition. I don’t want to come across as bashing the Cessna 172 but once I started flight training in a 172 and completed a handful of hours I had a calling for completing my training in a more modern aircraft. I did quite a bit of research, visited the factory in London, and decided that I had to complete my training in a Diamond aircraft.

After much searching for a used DA40 in Canada, I quickly realized that I could purchase one from the USA for a better price than I could here in Canada which was a bit disappointing as the DA40s are made here in Canada. With some expert guidance on the Canadian side, I was pointed in the direction of 3 USA Diamond dealers. All 3 dealers had very clean, low hour DA40’s ranging from model years 2008 to 2012 which was my target model year range. All 3 dealers were extremely helpful, professional and truly love the Diamond line of airplane. The dealer I ended up purchasing from was however the only one that was willing to fly the airplane to Canada, allow me and my mechanic to inspect the plane and then purchase the plane if my mechanic gave a thumbs up. I know, that’s sounds like a dream come true but yes, this is exactly how it happened and I was even invited to fly to the USA and accompany the pilot on ferrying the plane to Canada. I promptly purchased a one way ticket to Texas and had an awesome 8 hour experience from Galaxy FBO (CXO) to XU-Aviation (CYXU).