3 Diamonds Member
First Name: Bob
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N633DS
Airports: KFLD

Ground handling help needed

Post by Bob C »

Hello All:
I'm new to the forum. I'm a 100 hour pilot and bought a used DA40 in February. The hangar I am renting has bad pavement on the apron and it is a bugger to push the Diamond backward with the castering nosewheel. Do any of you use a power assist? I've seen the small battery powered tugs Cessna pilots use that power the nosewheel, but with the Diamond's big nosewheel fairing, I don't see a way to use this kind of device. What do you do?
Bob
Gary
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Gary
Aircraft Registration: N286DS
Airports: KSAW

Re: Ground handling help needed

Post by Gary »

Welcome to the forum Bob. What year is your DA40? Do you have the old style towbar or newer Bogi-bar? I am able to push my DA40 into the hangar slightly uphill on a snowy icy surface using the Bogi-bar to steer while I push on the inside of the prop. The old towbar that came with the airplane is much less useful. Try to get some towbar adapters that allow the use of the Cessna type towbars with the DA40 when you visit a FBO without Diamond nosewheel adapters.

http://aviation.bogertgroup.com/index.p ... &Itemid=23
http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/p ... gibars.php

Here is a video on the Lektro tug. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GhOZX2Oo1ls
Victor
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
First Name: Victor
Aircraft Registration: N519DS
Airports: KHIO

Post by Victor »

I use old PowerTow 35EZ for which I made two nylon plugs attached to 3/4 bolts which fit perfectly into tow bar attachment points. Once you learn how to steer and intercept alignment markings it goes in/out from the first try, so the whole process becomes very pleasant. Also gas powered model consumes fuel samples from the aircraft and never needs recharging. Previous owner used electric drill powered model which worked great but needed recharge.
Bob C